Skip to main content

Tastes Like...Chicken Feet


Have you ever wondered what chicken feet taste like?  Is this something that has kept you up at night?



Thank goodness, then, you’re reading this blog today. 



I’ve learned that the Filipino culture, especially, is quite skilled at making the most of every animal they may eat.  And the feet of chicken is no exception.



Frankly, I’ve always wondered what happens to the castoffs in chicken-processing plants...the feet, the heads, the combs of roosters, etc.  Well, I can’t speak for the other two, but the feet all get stuffed into plastic bags and shipped off to grocery stores of cultures who can make something out of them.




It’s not rocket science, really.  Humans have been braising and stewing things ever since we learned we could.  The slow heat and moisture tenderizes the toughest, leanest piece of protein or the most cellulose-ridden piece of fruit/vegetable, rendering a tender, flavorful final product. And that includes chicken feet.



When I posted this picture on Facebook...


I got mostly Ewwwws (I have no Filipino FB friends, you see).  But is that because they taste nasty or because they look like little shriveled monkey paws?  The latter, is my guess.  So, what do they taste like?  Chicken wings, actually.  Just with more bones and a little more fatty skin.  Pretty tasty, really.



Although, I don’t see any BBF (Buffalo Wild Feet) chain of restaurants opening up in America any time soon.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

In Which I Suspect I Have Latent Tendencies...Much Like The Hulk, Or Similar

I find in most normally functioning families, the members have a distinguishing role or legacy or skill of some kind. Like, he's the smart one.  Or, he's the religious one.  Or...she's the glue that helps the fam together.  Or, she's the savvy one, so she's the Power of Attorney. In my family, that system went something like this: My dad was The Dad.  Cantankerous, crotchety, and especially tight with daughters' curfew times.  Also, not a fan of driving in Big Cities. My mom was the long-suffering, patient, reserved one. My brother was the baby, the one who got away with murder, the namesake, and also, Frosty Hoarder. Me?  My legacy?  The Ruiner of Remote Controls.  No lie.  Although I've repressed the memories, my parents claim I destroyed at least two remotes in my tenure as Child Under The Roof.  Remote #1: milk spillage; Remote #2: applesauce spillage. So, now you see why my younger brother was the favorite. Anyway, t...

From Government Regulations to Chicken

So, I really wanted tonight's post to be whippy and biting and highly intelligent...and I've even got the perfect topic - government wine regulations: Europe vs. the US (subtitle: European Governments Seem to Trust Their Citizens A Whole Lot More The US, Otherwise Why Don't French, et al., Wine Labels Have the Surgeon General's "Pregnant Women Should Not Drink This/This Beverage Impairs Your Brain" Warning). But, I realized that to begin a post like that, I should probably know the answer to the question, yes?  Why do American wine labels include the warning, when, I don't know, isn't just common sense?  A quick search of this very query lands me at Wikipedia, which is good enough for a rude overview, but nothing that indicates why it's a law in the first place. Hence, more reading is required.  I hope to get to it soon.  It's almost August, two-thirds of this year is nearly gone, and sometimes I feel as I am moving very, very quickly along...

New Year's Solutions

I've never been a fan of resolutions at this time of year.  Usually, a resolution is what a person makes to "solve" an old recurring problem ( this year, I really am going to quit smoking, eat better, or stop reading Nicholas Sparks novels, etc. ). And usually, a resolution is vague.  As in, I'm going to get healthy!  But, I have no real plan of action of how to do it!! Despite my cynicism about making NY Resolutions, I do feel the need every end-of-year to come to make some kind of decisions about the year ahead - plans, goals, visions, etc.  2013 has been the year of indecision and immobility.  For me, anyway.  2014 will very likely be the year of movement...it's been looming on the horizon now for some time. I'm not much of a planner...I never really have been.  I've just sort of let things fall into my lap...and well, things have worked out okay for me, most of the time.  Professionally speaking, that is.  But now, I've been having ...