Skip to main content

Lately

The wine-drinking has been infrequent as of late; hence, no update for the last week and a half. However...

I found a decent Beaujolais at the local WalMart (!), and we tried it by itself. Not a glugging wine, for sure, I don't care what the literature says.

We've really been turned off by red wines in the past, honestly, I think because we tried the wrong one with a meal or just went too intense, who knows. The Beaujolais, we found, improved upon further tasting. It wasn't terribly off-putting, but it didn't change my life like some of the Rieslings we've had. So, in short...we will probably be trying a Beaujolais again.

Now, a week ago, I picked up a 2007 Selbach-Oster Kabinett Riesling at a Co-op food store. $24 a bottle, by far, the most I've spent on wine. German wine labeling/categorizing is kind of confusing. Basically, from what I understand, there are four categories of German wine, and within the top group (Pradikatswein), there are four sublevels. Well, Kabinett is the fourth sublevel of this top group. So...it's the worst of the best, I guess??

Anyway, it's a shame because this wine was REALLY good. I mean, excellent. I can tell I'm getting more wine-savvy, because I could smell the petrol (typical for Rieslings), and I could pick up the tart, fruity flavor (although separating them out into particular fruits was tricky). High in acidity, this one was medium-bodied and light and crisp.

In short, I really, really, really enjoyed it. Brent was ambivalent, especially when I told him it was $24! But, like I said before, it's a shame, because I don't think I'll be shelling out $24 too often for a bottle of wine.

*Sigh* Maybe I could put in on my Christmas list.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

In Which I Suspect I Have Latent Tendencies...Much Like The Hulk, Or Similar

I find in most normally functioning families, the members have a distinguishing role or legacy or skill of some kind. Like, he's the smart one.  Or, he's the religious one.  Or...she's the glue that helps the fam together.  Or, she's the savvy one, so she's the Power of Attorney. In my family, that system went something like this: My dad was The Dad.  Cantankerous, crotchety, and especially tight with daughters' curfew times.  Also, not a fan of driving in Big Cities. My mom was the long-suffering, patient, reserved one. My brother was the baby, the one who got away with murder, the namesake, and also, Frosty Hoarder. Me?  My legacy?  The Ruiner of Remote Controls.  No lie.  Although I've repressed the memories, my parents claim I destroyed at least two remotes in my tenure as Child Under The Roof.  Remote #1: milk spillage; Remote #2: applesauce spillage. So, now you see why my younger brother was the favorite. Anyway, t...

From Government Regulations to Chicken

So, I really wanted tonight's post to be whippy and biting and highly intelligent...and I've even got the perfect topic - government wine regulations: Europe vs. the US (subtitle: European Governments Seem to Trust Their Citizens A Whole Lot More The US, Otherwise Why Don't French, et al., Wine Labels Have the Surgeon General's "Pregnant Women Should Not Drink This/This Beverage Impairs Your Brain" Warning). But, I realized that to begin a post like that, I should probably know the answer to the question, yes?  Why do American wine labels include the warning, when, I don't know, isn't just common sense?  A quick search of this very query lands me at Wikipedia, which is good enough for a rude overview, but nothing that indicates why it's a law in the first place. Hence, more reading is required.  I hope to get to it soon.  It's almost August, two-thirds of this year is nearly gone, and sometimes I feel as I am moving very, very quickly along...

New Year's Solutions

I've never been a fan of resolutions at this time of year.  Usually, a resolution is what a person makes to "solve" an old recurring problem ( this year, I really am going to quit smoking, eat better, or stop reading Nicholas Sparks novels, etc. ). And usually, a resolution is vague.  As in, I'm going to get healthy!  But, I have no real plan of action of how to do it!! Despite my cynicism about making NY Resolutions, I do feel the need every end-of-year to come to make some kind of decisions about the year ahead - plans, goals, visions, etc.  2013 has been the year of indecision and immobility.  For me, anyway.  2014 will very likely be the year of movement...it's been looming on the horizon now for some time. I'm not much of a planner...I never really have been.  I've just sort of let things fall into my lap...and well, things have worked out okay for me, most of the time.  Professionally speaking, that is.  But now, I've been having ...